April showers bring Mom’s flowers

mom-01I tell you, when it rains it pours.

April closed with a flu epidemic, we’re still in a deepening recession, two violent wars rage on, etcetera, etcetera.

The list of downpours seems endless.

I look outside, and I see a turbulent world. Deep down inside, I worry. I wish I didn’t, but I do.

It’s just in me.

But you know, I get to a point eventually where it makes me stop, and look inward at what I have.

I find peace in there.

As grey clouds linger into May, I find myself reflecting on what is the single most important and joyful thing in life: the closeness and comfort of my family.

I have charming kids and a remarkably beautiful and loving wife – who is also a caring and devoted mother.

On Fatherhood this May, we are dedicating the whole month to Moms – and we have some inspiring and exciting material lined up for each week.

Men, can I ask you a favor? Will you do the same?

Not just on Sunday, but the whole month. Whatever your thing is, can you give the whole month to Mom?

I’m a writer, editor and a photographer. That’s my thing and I’m sharing it with moms this month.

If Mama ain’t happy, ain’t no body happy … and from what I’ve seen, a lot of folk ain’t happy these days.

Maybe it will a make a huge difference. Maybe not.

But it will make a difference to someone. And that’s what counts.

So men, join me. Let’s give her the whole month. Who knows, you might get into some good habits. You might break some bad ones.

Feel free to let us know in the comments how it’s going. We’d love to follow your progress, if you’re open to sharing it.

This week, in honor of our own resident “mom”, we took a photographic trip down our memory lane and would like to share some of our favorite moments.

We close with some favorite quotes recognizing mom for all she does.

Enjoy – and be sure to check back with us often. We’ve got a good month lined up.

Everybody wants to save the earth; nobody wants to help Mom with the dishes. ~ P.J. O’Rourke

All mothers are working mothers. ~Author Unknown

God could not be everywhere, so he created mothers. ~Jewish Proverb

A man’s work is from sun to sun, but a mother’s work is never done. ~Author Unknown

All that I am or ever hope to be, I owe to my angel Mother. ~Abraham Lincoln

It’s not easy being a mother. If it were easy, fathers would do it. ~From the television show The Golden Girls

Youth fades; love droops; the leaves of friendship fall; A mother’s secret hope outlives them all. ~Oliver Wendell Holme

Mother’s love grows by giving. ~Charles Lamb

There’s nothing like a mama-hug. ~Adabella Radici

A mother’s arms are made of tenderness and children sleep soundly in them. ~Victor Hugo

Any mother could perform the jobs of several air traffic controllers with ease. ~Lisa Alther

Mother love is the fuel that enables a normal human being to do the impossible. ~Marion C. Garretty, quoted in A Little Spoonful of Chicken Soup for the Mother’s Soul

If evolution really works, how come mothers only have two hands? ~Milton Berle

When you are a mother, you are never really alone in your thoughts. A mother always has to think twice, once for herself and once for her child. ~Sophia Loren, Women and Beauty

She never quite leaves her children at home, even when she doesn’t take them along. ~Margaret Culkin Banning

A mother is a person who seeing there are only four pieces of pie for five people, promptly announces she never did care for pie. ~Tenneva Jordan

A mother understands what a child does not say. ~ Jewish proverb

A mother’s love liberates.
 ~ Maya Angelou

I thought my mom’s whole purpose was to be my mom. That’s how she made me feel.
 ~ Natasha Gregson Wagner

Leave a Reply

