Making the last moments last

With the moving company coming in less than a week to pack up our entire life and move it to Washington, D.C., one might imagine how busy my weekend must have been.

But despite a long to-do list, I spent most of the weekend playing with my two boys.

hughI have always marveled at how quickly tensions melt when I get down on the floor or ground with a camera in hand and play with my kids. I hope I never forget the wellness value of letting go and escaping the demands of daily adult life by playing and really getting into my kids’ world – if only for a few hours. I hope to never forget for two reasons: One, because it’s a simple fix for a bad day, and two, because someday they’ll be too old for it, and being a kid with my kids will be just a distant memory. I hope I never forget.

They are leaving this week for Japan. I won’t see them again until mid July.

philoI’m glad I could spend some time with them before they go. I am going to miss them terribly. It’s going be hard coming home everyday to a new house in a new city, and not having them there to light up the room when I walk through the door.

I had a fleeting thought last night that I might go crazy not seeing them everyday.

Funny thing about kids. They can bring you to peaks of stress and worry that you never thought possible – and yet they can become sources of deep peace and comfort. Mine have certainly been both.

We spent today outside, around the house and at the park, while my wife packed for their trip. She had been sick for a while – but has gotten much better. I speak for all of us when I say that’s a relief.

I’m going to miss my wife. I know it will be hard, but with the move happening this week and all the planning, I’m suspect it hasn’t fully hit me yet that I’m going to be away from my family for more than a month. It will be pretty lonely, no doubt.

But, I have come to believe that the secret to happiness is not having the luxury of time to sit around and wonder whether or not you are happy. And I think life is balanced in that way. I’ll miss my family something awful – but I’ll have plenty to do to keep me busy until I can join them in Japan.

Until then, I’ll be watching this from time to time, and smiling:

More to follow …

POST COMMENT

Leave a Reply

