Humpday, Nov. 25, 2009

A few quick tidbits to get us through the week.

  • In Elmo’s voice: “Guess what Elmo is thinking about today?? … Quantum Physics, Mitosis, and Bathymetry. Yeah, you know, Science.” President Obama announced this week a newly launched campaign to promote science among our nation’s lil’ people. Including a two year emphasis on Sesame Street. I think this is fantastic. In fact, it was when our oldest son was about 2-years old, and repeatedly throwing his spaghetti across the kitchen table – after being warned several times to stop. Finally, he stared deep into my eyes and didn’t look away as he reached down, grabbed a handful of cold, sticky pasta and tossed it ever-so casually to the floor. As I neared a boiling point, something clicked in me. It was at that moment that I began to see him not as a merciless demon inside of a boy, trying to get under my skin – but rather a young scientist, experimenting cause and effect and learning about his environment. It was then I began my own campaign for science, to look for ever opportunity to help him make clearer sense of this planet we live on. Nice to see government is doing the same.
  • In case you hadn’t heard, this week the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission issued the largest crib recall in U.S. history. Apparently, the faulty cribs have trapped children, and in four cases, a 6-month old, two seven-month olds and a 9-month old died from suffocation. Awful … and scary. We, like so many we know, have owned two of those drop down style cribs. The CPSC issued a similar recall in October. We found a good link and recall finder at BabyCenter that tracks recalls across a wide spectrum of products. We’ll be on the lookout for other sites that track faulty products. If you know of any, please drop us a line and a link in the comments.
  • A friend of mine and I were talking a few weeks ago about our kids – and exchanging struggle stories. She was telling me about this “phase” her 6-year old was going through. She said it was tough. Mouthy, attitude – the works. As we talked, and although she didn’t say it, I picked up a hint of “I’m at my wits end,” from her. I empathized. Nothing’s worse than looking at this small person, so much a small version of yourself, and being utterly puzzled at their behavior, and unsure how to respond effectively. I suggested she read Raising Good Children: From Birth through the Teenage Years. She sent me a message last Friday saying, “The ‘book’ came in the mail today … time to get smart.”  As one reviewer put it: “… It has sound philosophical teachings and specific advice that is appropriate to every age and stage. It combines the fields of Child Development and Psychology with morality and good common sense to lend the reader a practical guide. It leaves plenty of room for readers to fashion our parenting philosophy combining the information given with our own intuition, experience and views … as a mother and scholar, I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to raise moral, thinking children. I would also recommend it to teachers.” As a young father and oft knuckle head who’s trying the best he can, I highly recommend it too.

More to follow … enjoy the jumps!

One Response to “Humpday, Nov. 25, 2009”

  1. Humpday, Jan. 27, 2010 « Says:

    […] Good Children: From Birth through the Teenage Years I mentioned this book in a previous set of jumps, and am including it here again because it is hands down one of the best parenting […]

Leave a Reply

